Our Mission Statement

“To provide a safe and controlled environment in which to teach safety education to the residents of Niagara with our priority population being school children of Niagara”

Our Story

The Niagara Safety Village is a registered non-profit organization that provides hands on safety and injury-prevention educational programs to the residents of the Niagara Region and Haldimand/Norfolk County.

The Niagara Safety Village provides onsite safety education programs to over 7100 students annually and those numbers continue to grow. Since we first opened our doors in the fall of 2003 we have expanded our safety programs to include all grades at the elementary level. We have also provided safety programs to specialized groups including community living, senior safety, homeschoolers of Niagara and private daycares and schools. We continue to strive to be the resource for safety information for all residents across Niagara.

Our programs would not be possible without the support and strong partnerships we have maintained and increased over the last 10 years. We thank our numerous partners including Niagara Regional Police, Niagara Region Fire Chiefs Association and the Ontario Municipal Fire Prevention Officers Association- Niagara Chapter, Niagara EMS, Niagara Region Emergency Management and Niagara College


Volunteer Board of Directors

Chair – Chris Anders – Manager of Engineering Services, Infrastructure and Development Services – City of Welland

Vice Chair – Ryan Hooykaas – Financial Advisor/Owner – The Cooperators

Director – Peter Van Hezewyk – President/CEO – C.A.A. Niagara

Director – Cindy Crosbie – Retired Secondary School Teacher with the DSBN

Director Inspector – Shawn Dowd – Niagara Regional Police Service

Director Deputy Chief – Roger Mayo – Niagara Emergency Medical Services

Director Chief – Brian Kennedy – Fire Chief, Welland Fire and Emergency Services